About – Dennis R. Burton, PhD

James & Jessie Minor Chair in Immunology
Department of Immunology & Microbiology
Scripps Research

Scripps Consortium For HIV/AIDS Vaccine Development (CHAVD)

IAVI Neutralizing Antibody Consortium (NAC)

IAVI Neutralizing Antibody Center, The Scripps Research Institute
Faculty, Kellogg School of Science and Technology, The Scripps Research Institute
The Ragon Institute of MGH, MIT and Harvard

B.A., Chemistry, University of Oxford, 1974
Ph.D., Physical Biochemistry, Lund University, 1978

2015  Distinguished Lecturer, American Association of Immunology
2012  Bernard Fields Award, Conference on Retroviruses and Opportunistic Infections (CROI)
2012  British Medical Association Book of the Year Award for Roitt’s Essential Immunology (co-author)
2009-present  NIH Merit Award
2008-2011  NIH AIDS Vaccine Research Subcommittee (AVRS)
2008-2009  Pfizer Visiting Professor in Infectious Diseases, Vanderbilt
2005 Fellowship in the American Academy of Microbiology
2008-present  Visiting Professor, Oxford Centre in Virology, Oxford, UK
2008-present  Science Committee, Global HIV Vaccine Enterprise
2005-present  Executive Committee, The Center for AIDS Research (CFAR), University of California, San Diego
2003-present  HIV-1 Vaccine Trials Network (HVTN) Laboratory Scientific Advisory Committee, NIH
2003-2009  Program Committee, Conference on Retroviruses and Opportunistic Infections (CROI)
2002  American Foundation for AIDS Research Basic Science Committee (amfAR)
2001-2004  IAVI Scientific Advisory Committee
1995-2005  NIH Merit Award
1995-2000  Member, NIH Study Section, AIDS and Related Research
1985-1991  Jenner Fellow, Lister Institute of Preventive Medicine